Landmass not filled "continuously"

Added by Christoph 10 months ago

Hey folks,

hoping for your help as I have been trying to resolve this issue for quite a while now. I am a GMT newbie, currently trying to plot a map of Antarctica.

Minimal sample code:
gmtset PS_MEDIA 2200x2200
gmt pscoast -R-180/180/-90/-60 -Js0/-90/1:10000000 -P -A -BWesN -Df -W3p -Gwhite -Slightblue -K > AC.ps
gmt pscoast -R-180/180/-90/-60 -Js0/-90/1:10000000 -P -A+ag -O -BWesN -Df -Ggray >> AC.ps

Running it (GMT Version 5.4.2) gives me the desired image, but the continent is not filled continuously but there are some kind of grid lines in the fill when I zoom in (see attached image, the sea is fine though?!). I assume this is some kind of gridding/resolution issue, but cant resolve it. Does somebody know which parameter to adjust?

Thanks in advance,
Chris

gmtgrid.png (373 KB)

Replies (11)

RE: Landmass not filled "continuously" - Added by Christoph 10 months ago

I read it several times.
Application of

gmt psconvert

in several variations (also playing around with -E and -Qg) does not fix the problem (see attached image). I also looked at the outcome in various ps and pdf viewers to make sure its not a viewer problem.

Is there a way to fix this?

RE: Landmass not filled "continuously" - Added by Paul 10 months ago

I see it too. However, the " the continent is not filled continuously" has to do with filling in the ice-portion only.

RE: Landmass not filled "continuously" - Added by Joaquim 10 months ago

Well, I don't see it. I do in the PS version but not in jpeg or pdf obtained with psconvert.

Yes, cannot rule out ghostscript regression here. I have gs 9.22.

I have a home build of the release candidate of the last Ghost (Windows here. That's another difference)

Running gs 9.22, too.

Also, I thought it doesnt really matter to gmt that it is "ice" compared to continent, its just whether you use +Ag on the coastline or not?!