Plot Grid cells in actual size

Added by Andreas 9 months ago

Hello,

I'm pretty new to GMT, but so far I really like the possibilities. I have written a small tool (in Python), which generates ground tracks which are stored in a csv file. This file is then processed by GMT, in order to see how often the same spot on earth (in a 30km x 30km grid) is visited. However, I can not find the right option to fill a 30kmx30km cell completly with a color (the color is dependend on how many times the cell is visited).

Here is what I do:

# Draw basemap with coastlines
gmt pscoast -Rd -JQ6i -B60f30g30 -N1 -Sblue -Ggray -P -K > points.ps
# Resample input data to get continous track (since the actual sample rate of the points is 30s)
gmt sample1d -I30k -Afr -gd50k -h1 -i7,6,0 "%%F" > "%%F_resampled.csv" 
# Select all the points over water surfaces
gmt select "%%F_resampled.csv" -A -Nk/s/k/s/k > "%%F_ocean.csv" 
# Create grid and count the number of occurances
gmt blockmean -C -Sn -I30k "%%F_ocean.csv" -h1 -i0,1 -Rd > "%%F_blockmean_ocean.csv" 
gmt psxy "%%F_blockmean_ocean.csv" -Rd -JQ6i -h0 -i0,1,2s0.025 -Scc -Ggreen -O -K >> points.ps

These files (*_blockmean_ocean.csv) are then processed further and in the end used by:
gmt pscoast -R-180/180/70/90 -JS0/90/11c -B20g:."Polar (70 to 90 deg)": -N1 -Sblue -Ggray -P -K >  "%%F_pol.ps" 
gmt psscale -Dx5i/0i+w3i/0.25i -Csnr.cpt -B1:."Occurance": -O -K >> "%%F_pol.ps" 
# Plot the points ... Here is the command I'm missing
gmt psxy "%%F" -R-180/180/70/90 -JS0/90/11c -h1 -i1,2,3 -Sc0.025c -Csnr.cpt -O >>  "%%F_pol.ps" 

The result has points plotted at the center of the grid, in the correct color (i.e. what I expected). But as mentioned above, the grid cell is not filled. I have played around with xyz2grd, grdview and surface, but the plots do not look what I expext (especially around the poles). Is this the correct way to do? If so, what would be the right command to get the complete cells filled?

Cheers,
Andi

Replies (2)