Error messages in Cygwin

Added by Jonathan 8 months ago

Hello, I am using GMT5 on Cygwin on my Windows 8.1 machine (64-bit). I have been using it successfully for a couple months now, but I have never been able to get it to produce error messages, no matter what verbosity level I use. I initially just assumed it was part of the sacrifice for using it on Cygwin rather than a true linux system and was able to work around it, but I'm having a few issues that I am unable to trouble-shoot and it'd be nice to have some guidance from the error messages. I looked through the forums and couldn't see anything specifically about error messages in Cygwin, so it may be an issue with my machine specifically. Do you know of any reason that error messages might not be working on my installation? Is it a common Cygwin issue? Any advice you can provide would be appreciated as always, thanks!
- Jonathan

Replies (6)

RE: Error messages in Cygwin - Added by Paul 8 months ago

Cannot check from home but last time I tried Cygwin (1+ year) there were certainly error messages printing to the terminal. If you just type

gmt

then presumably you see something like this:

GMT - The Generic Mapping Tools, Version 6.0.0_r19684 [64-bit] [8 cores]
(c) 1991-2018 Paul Wessel, Walter H. F. Smith, Remko Scharroo, Joaquim Luis, and Florian Wobbe

Then, if you try

gmt psxy -

you should see

psxy(core) 6.0.0_r19684 [64-bit] - Plot lines, polygons, and symbols on maps

usage: psxy [<table>] -J<args> -R<west>/<east>/<south>/<north>[/<zmin>/<zmax>][+r] [-A[m|p|x|y]]
[-B<args>] [-C<cpt>] [-D<dx>/<dy>] [-E[x|y|X|Y][+a][+c[l|f]][+n][+p<pen>][+w<width>]] [-F<arg>] [-G<fill>]
[-I<intens>] [-K] [-L[+b|d|D][+xl|r|x0][+yb|t|y0][+p<pen>]] [-N[c|r]] [-O] [-P]

If you are getting no error messages, are you seeing any of these outputs?

RE: Error messages in Cygwin - Added by Joaquim 8 months ago